Spiritual Will

I love writing. Writing is truly a cathartic practice for me. I feel the emotions pouring out of my heart and dripping onto the page with each stroke of the pen. I keep multiple journals and usually write about anything that I feel at that moment, but sometimes I find certain exercises help me work creatively through my feelings and uncover ideas I would not have otherwise thought. Today, in one of the many blogs I read, I found a writing exercise that inspired me- writing a spiritual will. The idea is just as it sounds. You write out a will in any form you are comfortable with, for example the author of the blog wrote her will in the form of a letter to her son, and you describe the spiritual, or non-tangible, gifts you want to leave with people who are important to you, such as your family, friends, and community.  I thought this was an amazing idea and had to share it. I cannot wait to start working on my own spiritual will.

For more information on the idea of a spiritual will and an example, check out the blog that inspired me: Velveteen Rabbi. http://velveteenrabbi.blogs.com/blog/2011/11/writing-a-spiritual-will.html

Leave a comment